MASK

Each dawn
a new morning awaits.
New faces surpass
as I continue
on my way.
Each face giving a stubborn stare
and I keep my eyes down.
“Has everyone gone mad.”
“Why are they looking at me
as such? ”
“I can’t bear it anymore.”
With a sigh
I sat on a bench nearby.
My eyes were on the road
looking at footsteps nearing
yet afraid to face their eyes.
Then he came
– tall but old.
He sat beside me
with a newspaper in hand.
“What sorrow my son? ”
My vision curbed onto his feet.
“Everybody’s staring at me
and laughing! ”
“Hah!” “It’s because you’ve got this mask on .”
“Get it off ,my son! ”
Soon my eyes were in light.

Leave a Reply

